Home > Advice, Gen-Y, Road trip > Pursue the Passion gets it right

Pursue the Passion gets it right

“Half the American work force is not satisfied with their job, and only a fifth apply a passion towards their career. As this trend trickles to students entering the working world, people continue to pursue a path that leads them further from their true dreams.” ~ Pursue the Passion Homepage

A few months back I was entertaining the idea of quitting my job as a PR professional and follow my dream of becoming an adventure travel writer and photographer. One day while perusing the web I came across Pursue the Passion—a multimedia smattering of interviews, tips, stories and personal narratives. Think of it as Roadtrip Nation on steroids.

At first I was jealous. How could this kid do this I thought? No way could I build a website, buy an RV and take off for a few months. Did his parents help him? Was he a trust fund baby? And then I started reading.

I couldn’t have been further from the truth. Brett Farmiloe, the twenty-something behind the tour, had held a corporate job in accounting before deciding it was not what he wanted to do. After eating free Hot Pockets and PB & J’s for months, Brett was able to get his idea off the ground and find a corporate sponsor. I’m not going to go into too much detail since it’s better to read Brett’s version here.

What makes Brett so special though, is that he is everything a majority Baby Boomers and Gen-Xers, think Gen-Yers are not. Smart, capable, motivated, witty, understanding and patient. The ability to get corporate sponsors, a website built, a fully functional RV and enough interviews to make the trip possible did not just appear overnight.

As a patient individual myself, I understand the pain and turmoil Brett most likely went through when finding a sponsor. He says over twenty different corporations rejected him. That means twenty detailed proposals were written, formatted and sent out. I’m sure it wasn’t just an email like:

Hi Coke,

Yo! You pay for ringtones so how about sponsoring my buddies and me on a cross-country road trip! You know, we’ll drink Coke at every stop and make sure to hand out free twenty ounce bottles! It will be sweet!

Loyal Coke Drinker,
Brett

PS: We might need dental insurance after drinking all that Coke, but I’m sure that will be no problem.

If you’ve got some time, or have a story to tell Brett and his crew, please take a second and visit their website. They may have stolen my idea–ok, actually they just came up with it first–but they did it justice and I’m sure more than a few baby boomers may have wish they had done the same thing.

Well done guys.

Categories: Advice, Gen-Y, Road trip
  1. August 9, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    I think this is one of the best articles ever written about us. Thanks for writing and reading, and I hope you continue to follow our journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

