Home > Travel > The world according to kids

The world according to kids

September 4, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m sitting on an airplane smashed between an older lady who decided it was a good idea to recline her seat all the way back and then lean forward to read, and my old roommate Jeremy, who is doing everything in his power to not knockout the kids running up and down the isle.

This brings into question what they were thinking when they engineered airplanes. Apparently cry rooms were axed out of the plan.

What a bunch of idiots…

The kids, however, are providing some cheap entertainment.

Exhibit A

A small–just shy of three feet–blond hair, blue-eyed beauty has been wandering up and down the isles with her grandma—an older women doing a fine job keeping up behind the fast moving wheelhouse of her granddaughter. The girl, we’ll call her Mary for simplicity, has been stopping at random seats observing the strange unique behavior of the adult world.

“What’s that?” she asks as she points to an iPod of a lady who is obviously lost in her own world.

“It’s an iPod dear. I listen to music with it,” she answers when the starring child breaks her out of her electronic trance.

“Oh, that’s funny,” Mary shoots back. “I just sing to myself. My grandma lets me make my own music.” Then she turns to her grandma, who just so happened to hear that last part, and takes a deep breath to obviously show off her stellar music capability.

“Oh no, no, no Mary,” she says. “We love your music at home, but some people are sleeping and you don’t want to wake them up do you?”

“Really?” she says, her eyes filled with confusion. “But it’s daytime. Only babies sleep in the daytime.” At this point she considers her options, to sing and impress her new friend, or chalk it up as a learning experience and move on. Luckily for the passengers she forgets why she is standing there and starts eating her hair.

Exhibit B

The little boy sitting next to my old roommate is now trying to understand why in America you need to pay for headphones if you want to watch the movie.

“In the rest of the world they just give them to you,” he knowingly explains. “In Turkey they have the screens right on the seat. Why do they do that? Is it to make money or something? That is so stupid.”

Jeremy couldn’t get a word in edgewise.

“You know what else?” he says. (as if there is a chance we can say no) “My dad is cool. That’s my sister on his lap, (he points to his little sister,) she is one, but I’m six. Do you like Milk?” A milk box has suddenly appeared in his hands. “I really like milk, but my mom won’t let me drink it. She is worried I might pee to much.”

We tried not to laugh, but couldn’t resist.

The two brief interactions got me thinking what it must be like to live in a world where everything is foreign and discovery comes with a limited amount of understanding and experience to draw on. It’s a feeling of innocence and wonder that I wish I could have again.

Categories: Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

