Home > Humor, Outdoors, Personal, Road trip, Travel > Miles Driven: 0, Hours Spent Planning: 15 +/-, Learning your car will shake every other 5000 miles? Priceless

Miles Driven: 0, Hours Spent Planning: 15 +/-, Learning your car will shake every other 5000 miles? Priceless

September 14, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Shit, shit, shit,”….I couldn’t think of anything else to say. I had just spent $382 to replace two tires only to find out when they rotated them, the back right wheel was flat. What this means in I’m-driving-across-the-country-starting-Saturday terms, is that every other 5,000 miles, or at least until I rotate the tires, the car will shimmy and shake as the flat part slams against the pavement 1 billion times a day.

Trying to be optimistic I put on my best no worries attitude and asked how much it was to fix. “Roughly $800 to $1000 for a new wheel,” the guy told me. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I’ve been living with my parents for the past month just to save money for this trip. Reassured that the problem was not a safety risk, I walked out turned the key and hit the freeway. After one minute I had a few ideas.

– I could make ice cream all the way across the country with this shake. Just get one of those balls, fill it with rock salt, peanut butter, sugar and whatever the hell else you put in there, and lay it on the passenger seat. Three hundred miles later, walla! Road trip ice cream!

-Every day I will get the best hand massage known to man. The longer I drive the more relief I get. Now what I really should do is pick up hitchhikers and charge them a per mile rate to let them drive. That way their hands can experience the bliss mine do.

-Every other 5000 miles will be the slowest in my life. Maybe even slower than Kansas.

So on the eve, before the eve of my departure I’m thrown yet another curveball in the otherwise flawlessly planned trip. (If you know me, you can stop laughing now.) I’m sure at this rate it’s going to be a fun few months.

  1. September 17, 2007 at 5:49 am

    Good luck on your voyage Timmy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

