Home > Photography, Road trip, Sports, Travel > There are no detours — Arizona Diamondback Game

There are no detours — Arizona Diamondback Game

September 19, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Roger say’s it’s just because I’m Shisler, but this is how it went down:

I’m sitting at my new friends house (Roger’s [a guide from my rafting years] girlfriend’s in Arizona) when I hear a knock at the door. Roger’s girlfriend (Traci) is at the doctors with her son. I decide to open the door and find a fragile, ten-year-old four-eyed (yes, I wear glasses so I can say that) girl, with an envelope in her hands.

“Do you want Diamondback tickets?”

“Um, for tonight?”

“Yea. They are free, I just can’t go.”

“Sure why not.” So then I call Traci and see if her son wants to go to the game. Turns out it’s a school night (damn forgot) and I’m flying solo. So in the middle of a playoff race I head out on the I-10 and find myself standing next to a Miller Beer rep while waiting to get to my seats. Turns out he is sitting two rows up from me and LOVES Barry Bonds. Enter three free Miller’s for being a Giants fan.

Why did I wait so long to take this trip?

(The Giants getting their asses kicked yet again.)

dbacks2.jpg

  1. September 19, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Jesus.

  2. September 20, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Nice view from the ball game! Where are you headed to next?

  3. Matt(the little brother)
    September 20, 2007 at 3:57 am

    So why didn’t you bring me along?

    I envy you so much. Not just the baseball game but for being able to take some time off of life and instead of sitting in some hotel room go out on a journey and have what sounds like a hell of a good time.

    Highschool sucks.

    Saturday 9/15:
    Took first JV Small School Division at the RLS Invitational. Varsity Took first overall by over 1 minute.

    Sunday 9/16:
    Sunday?

    Monday 9/17:
    9 1/2 miles. Learning the meaning of pain.

    Tuesday 9/18:
    Coming within 10 seconds of my mile PR in an interval workout.

    Wednesday 9/19:
    Feels like somebody shot me in the legs…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

