Home > Advice, Humor, Personal, Road trip, Travel > Rejection, Passion, Snow and Time

Rejection, Passion, Snow and Time

September 24, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

As heard while talking with a girl I really, really liked, who, well, really didn’t like me…

“You know your saying…Less Chit Chat, More Get At? Well I like to Chit Chat.”

When she told me this one evening in Starbucks I wanted to grab her by the shoulders and tell her how wrong she was about my personality. About how wishy-washy I am. About how much of my life is sitting on the couch thinking about just how cool I would be if I got up and actually did something about it. And about how that statement is less about time management and more about passion. But alas I fell silent in a whirlwind of utter confusion and rejection and stared at my drained cup of cider.

Boy was she wrong.

It all came together yesterday while I was searching for a book on how to use my digital camera. After driving through Colorado and missing just about every National Geographic moment, I decided it was time to read a manual. If you know me, the thought of me reading something to learn how it works, is on par with LeBron watching an instructional video on how to be cool. In other words, they just don’t go together.

So when I walked into Borders and started looking around, you could imagine my surprise when I suddenly realized what I would have said if she approached me today with that excuse.

“Of course you like to chit chat,” I would have started. “We all do, but what you are seeing is the statement as a time management mantra and not what it really is, a statement that represents what most Americans can not do. Follow their passion.”

Think I’m wrong? Think again. The following books were prominently on display in Borders no more than fifteen feet from the front door.

I Dare You
The Secret
Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life
Life Lessons For Loving The Way You Live
Become a Better You

Five titles that more or less say the same thing. “Take your life by the reigns and stop just dreaming.” In other words, “Less chit chat, more get at.”

The more I think about it, the more I realize how easy it was for her to mistake this principle. I am always running around. A normal day for me used to start at 5am and end around 11pm. I would exercise, work, write, socialize, drink a beer, read, watch TV, help someone out somehow, pray and do whatever else fell in my lap. If I was told by someone to be somewhere at a certain time, I would make sure to do everything I could to get there. Reversely, if I was making plans, the wishy-washy “maybe, maybe not,” did not work.
That is where I think the problem materialized. To someone who was busy, but not as busy, the ability to be on time and ready may have looked anal and obsessive, when in reality it was a byproduct of my schedule.

Now that I’m on the road, everything has changed. I have only twice looked at the clock and felt any type of pressure to be somewhere. The first time was at 2:45am when I was late for church, and the second was fifteen minutes ago when I was supposed to chat with a writer on the phone. But besides that, the sun and my stomach determine my schedule, and the less chit chat really isn’t applicable, since I’d only be talking to myself.

So as I have said all along, maybe it wasn’t right that we worked out. If we had, I would never of quit my job, packed up my life and done the stupidest/smartest thing I’ve ever done. Hell, maybe I’ll even write a book one day. It will be appropriately called, “Learn to skip the chit chat and just get at!”

(PS: It’s raining/hailing/snowing right now in Boulder. My tent—yes that’s right—tent is a borrowed Eureka from a new friend I met in Durango. She sure didn’t chit chat when it came to offering it. God bless her heart.)

  1. Corey
    September 24, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Hey Tim! What kind of camera did you buy?

  2. September 26, 2007 at 5:19 am

    I like your saying! Provides originiality and Character.

    Your pictures turned out wonderful.

  3. September 26, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Have a newer blog address, will provide it with this message.

    Btw, your saying rocks!

  4. Rebecca
    October 3, 2007 at 6:43 am

    You forgot the part about your good friend that told you to get the #$%^ over her and MOVE ALONG MOVE ALONG?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

