Home > Advice, Gen-Y, Internship, Journalism, Personal Branding, PR, Social Networks, Technology > New Social Capital blog — Worth checking out

New Social Capital blog — Worth checking out

December 12, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

A few months ago, I wrote a post about social capital and why college is a perfect place to build your network.

In the post I referenced a very smart blog I had been reading on the subject of social capital and interconnectedness.

Now that blog has spun off into another blog, and even though I truly hope it can survive, I’m still a bit skeptical about the business model of a blog and if it can make money to support its writers.

Penelope Trunk, the “it lady” of modern Gen-Y blogging, left a great comment on Ben Casnocha’s blog regarding book deals, questioning why more people don’t write blogs instead of pursuing a book.

I agree with Penelope, but only to a point. My blog helped me get my current job as an Intern at a national magazine, but editors still want hard clips that have been printed on someone else’s dime.

Not just digital content that lacks an editor and submission process.

So then why do I continue to write a blog you might ask?

For starters, it allows me to voice my opinion on a wide range of topics in an open forum which can accessed anywhere there is an Internet connection.

Secondly, a potential employer who spends more than five minutes on my blog will see I can discuss several high-level issues regarding journalism, technology, economics, photography and others.

Thirdly, it has allowed me to make connections and build relationships with professionals who were not accessible beforehand.

For The Little Red Suit, that is exactly what building social capital is all about.

So as Tiffany Monhollon breaks away and starts another blog, I can only hope her decision to go digital will pay off .

Which is exactly why I think you should take a second and check it out.

  1. December 13, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Thanks so much for the kind words. You raise some interesting points, and I’m glad you have experienced the power of relationships built through blogging first hand. It’s an amazing thing, isn’t it?

    As to the point about making money though blogging, of course that is a nice thing, and everyone who blogs would like to do that, I’m sure, but I since I work full time and don’t have to make a living through blogging, that gives me some flexibility to take risks like launching this new blog. It is a difficult process, because I’m proud of what I’ve built at Little Red Suit, but I have faith that the power of relationships I’ve already built will work for me in helping make it a successful venture.

    Hopefully, the social capital I’ve built through sharing my ideas and building relationships with people like you through Little Red Suit will make the process of building my new blog much smoother. And your post is just one terrific example of how that very process works!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

