Home > Personal, Personal Branding > Actions and the anonymous

Actions and the anonymous

It’s Sunday and that means $1.63, Starbucks and the Sunday Times. This afternoon while in the middle of yet another arduous 6,000 word article, I watched an interesting scene unfold at the bar.

A gentleman who was paying for his drink watched the barista accidentally knock two empty cups off the bar. The cups hit the floor next to the customer. Instead of bending down to pick them up, smile at the barista and make her feel less clumsy, or even acknowledge the situation, he just kicked the cup to the middle of the store and went along his business.

After he left the barista walked around and picked them up.

It got me thinking. I know I have done similar stuff. I’ve missed the trashcan and acted like I didn’t notice. Spit on the sidewalk only then realizing an old lady was walking towards me. Turned my head when someone needed help.

The big question is who was watching and what were they thinking.

So next time I have the chance I hope I make the right decision and act accordingly, because who knows who’s watching and what they are thinking.

  1. January 7, 2008 at 3:44 am

    If only each of us is a little bit more responsible, the world would be a much better place. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

