Home > Advice, Personal > Words To Live By: Calvin and Hobbes

Words To Live By: Calvin and Hobbes

February 26, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Needed a pickup after one hell of a month and found solace within “The Indispensable Calvin and Hobbes.”

Bill Watterson’s into:

I made a big decision a little while ago.
I don’t remember what it was, which prob’ly goes to show
That many times a simple choice can prove to be essential
Even though it often might appear inconsequential.

I must have been distracted when I left my home because
Left or right I’m sure I went. (I wonder which way it was!)
Anyway, I never veered: I walked in that direction
Utterly Absorbed, it seems, in quiet introspection.

For no reason I can think of, I’ve wandered far astray.
And that is how I got to where I find myself today.

Categories: Advice, Personal
  1. February 27, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Well, in a related spirit:

    “This morning I had a wonderful dream. By holding my arms out stiff and pushing down hard, I found I could suspend myself a few feet above the ground. I flapped harder, and soon I was soaring effortlessly over the trees and telephone poles! I could fly! I folded my arms back and zoomed low over the neighborhood. Everyone was amazed, and they ran along under me as I shot by. Then I rocketed up so fast that my eyes watered from the wind. I laughed and laughed, making huge loops across the sky! …That’s when Mom woke me up and said I was going to miss the bus if I didn’t get my bottom out of bed; 20 minutes later, here I am, standing in the cold rain, waiting to go to school, and I just remembered I forgot my lunch. Tuesdays don’t start much worse than this.”

    Of course, wearing your lucky rocket-ship underpants may help to clarify the situation…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

