Home > Advice, Personal > Seven ways people react to new ideas and roadblocks

Seven ways people react to new ideas and roadblocks

I’ve noticed something lately, usually when given a task that involves a roadblock; I tend to focus on the positive instead on the negative. Not that I don’t bitch, I do that all the time, but rather when looking at my job, or tasks at hand, it’s the positives that get me through.

The last few weeks I’ve made a conscious effort to listen to how people react to ideas. I’ve noticed some interesting things.

  • People usually like the idea, but find a negative within the first few seconds. Instead of asking what they can do, they ask how the person will overcome so and so problem.
  • People take the idea and make it theirs. They usually do this by saying “It’s great, BUT how about so and so. (I do this all the time and need to watch it)
  • People rarely ask how they can help. I get a feeling that people, and this is not directed at the people I work with, are afraid to take on more work. They don’t want to commit to someone else’s idea. It’s not out of selfishness, but more to maintain their sanity.
  • If people do ask what they can do, they usually don’t accept the person’s suggestions. Rather they go out and do what they think they need to do and then show off their work.
  • People are afraid to agree and jump blindly. Again not directly related to my job, but the department I work in constantly has roadblocks. We have technical problems, equipment problems, contributor problems and yet we survive. It’s mainly because we put ourselves out there as a team and hope for the best. This, however, is usually not the norm.
  • Those who do offer, who do follow through, who do give away some of their time usually come away with more than they put in. Professional coaches say, “Those who are willing to learn, ask for help and help others, will grow beyond their years.” I have a hard time with this one, but try my best.
  • When the idea is bad, people say so and leave it at that. Instead, they could talk about how to improve the idea, or push the thinkers own ideology. It’s a fine line, but important.

                So the moral of the story? Next time I hear an idea, no matter how ludicrous, I’m going to do my best to encourage, help and maybe even be a part of the project.

                Categories: Advice, Personal
                1. March 19, 2008 at 6:11 am

                  Great article buddy! I printed it out and started a folder of great insight to put on my desk to reference from time to time!

                2. April 3, 2008 at 4:28 pm

                  I’m not so sure about this. It’s a great idea, but it sounds like a lot of work to be so encouraging and open minded. I also find new ideas very scary. Like Facebook.

                3. Joci
                  April 3, 2008 at 6:28 pm

                  I have an idea…

                  drinks?

                1. No trackbacks yet.

                Leave a Reply

