Home > Uncategorized > As Good As It Gets: Riding Trail Ridge Road

As Good As It Gets: Riding Trail Ridge Road

Like an idiot I forgot a camera for one of the most beautiful road rides I’ve ever done. Hell, it would also be one of the most beautiful drives too, that is if you’re into destroying the planet and all.

In the end we topped out with just shy of 50 miles of riding, 7,000 feet of elevation gain, and a lung-taxing 12,000+ pass. The road, a spectacular cross-country traverse of Rocky Mountain National Park, rewarded us with views of countless 13,000 peaks scraping the stratosphere.

The group, four from Backpacker and a smattering of friends, was the perfect combination of fast-as-shit racers, and slower take-our-time cyclists. Since I forgot the camera I’ve put in the ride stats from my GPS.

The best part? Probably sitting in Lyons drinking a beer, basking in the sun and eating a well-deserved BBQ sandwich with some of the most standup folks I know.

Elevation Profile:

Ride Stats:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Wendy
    June 1, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    blah, blah, blah. Showoff! (smile)

  2. Matt Shisler
    June 3, 2008 at 4:35 am

    That sounds intense. I really wish I could come visit you in the summer. Mark said you saw my guitar video. I’ll try to post another cause I’m a lot better now =)

  3. Susan
    June 3, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Some things are better NOT seen through a lens…

    M

  4. Kati
    June 25, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I am totally into destroying the planet and all. I am too old and decrepit to be riding a bike. I just get into my car drive the 2 miles or so to Trail Ridge Road – at dusk of course – so I can see the elk and moose feeding and then turn around and go home. I almost always forget my camera (but that is mostly because I am old and senile). But I do keep binnoculars in the car!

    I am here with my sister right now, hopefully Phil and I will be back up later this summer and we hope that you will come visit us – we will kidnap you and take a drive up into the park to see the wildlife with us!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

