Home > Advice, Journalism, Personal > Advice To Live By: Waiting For The World To Catch Up

Advice To Live By: Waiting For The World To Catch Up

The trick is mastering the skill of balancing our enthusiasm, knowledge and ambition with the patience we need to wait till the relevant parts of the world catch up.  (Even if that means we may have to miss some windows of opportunity.) ~ Sharon Kawaguchi

I am a passionate individual to say the least. If you know me, and you’re probably rolling you eyes at this point, it is no secret I’m always thinking, forcing those around me to push forward, change the world and dare to take on the impossible. The flip side is this passion also can alienate me. Push me into a corner where I have to remember, “You just don’t get it,” and, “You’re not smart enough to see this,” are not appropriate ways to express my opinion.

Take for instance my latest fiasco in the job market. I was sure Backpacker was going to offer me the new media position. I had taken a chance, one that not many do, and put myself out there. The editors were warm, and obviously struggling with how to handle me. But when things got hot, and the powers that be were forced with a higher economic cost, the plan folded. I remember sitting in the editor’s office in shock. “Don’t you see the potential!,” I wanted to scream. “This is huge! You’re taking a step nobody else is!” My mind was racing and my passion growing.

But then a month later this quote wound up in my inbox from a new employer and I saw the light. Certain individuals at Backpacker were ready to tackle my project, but the world, or better put the publishing model, was not. The world will eventually catch up, and if Backpacker really thinks I can execute their goals I’ll get a call. It is all about patience at this point.

Categories: Advice, Journalism, Personal
  1. Susan
    August 6, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Advice from the sages:

  2. Susan
    August 6, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Let’s try that again.

    Advice from the sages — “Hurry up and wait.”

  3. Wendy
    August 7, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Let’s try: “The Journey IS the Destination”. Embrace the present, my dear friend.

  4. sharon
    September 1, 2008 at 7:24 am

    the corollary…”and most importantly, regardless of what happens, applying your passion and energy to new endeavors is a requirement of “living”; not to do so is either laziness or self-indulgence.” but i know you know that. we’re not dumb rats pounding our heads into dead-end mazes. we are smarter rats, who double-back, take a different path, or climb over the walls to make it to our goals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

