Home > Personal > When Passion Becomes Insanity

When Passion Becomes Insanity

November 12, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s 10 p.m. and Rage Against the Machine is blaring on my iPod. I’ve been up since 6 a.m., and even though most of my day has been spent in the mountains, my mind has been working on how to solve the problem regarding the demise of journalism and the rise of new technology.

It’s no surprise that I’m passionate about life. Sometimes it’s crossing the finish line in a triathlon or marathon, while other times it’s helping a group of people overcome their fear of river rafting. But one subject–the subject that keeps me up at night daily–is so frustrating at times it feels like I am going insane. 

When will the world realize and understand journalism is NOT entertainment and should not be expected to produce outlandishly high returns? Is it greed? The fact that we all must drive BMW’s? Have a big house? Drink Starbucks? That keeps us from pushing our boundaries and seeing how far we can fly? I’m so sick of people saying “I can’t,” when in reality THEY CAN.

Will it tip? Sure. Will it be bloody? Have you seen Mediabistro lately? Will people risk everything to gain it all? Unfortunately I don’t think so. And that is where my insanity begins.

Categories: Personal
  1. Wendy
    November 12, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Breath. And remember Houston.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

