Home > Personal, Uncategorized > The Joy of Conversation

The Joy of Conversation

January 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s midnight and I’m standing in the only open line at Safeway. I’m holding two bananas, a carton of juice and some gummy bears. The checker, born sometime during the last major recession, is moving slower than molasses reminiscing about the last time she tried to give up cigarettes. 

“I gave them up once, but you know had this health problem,” she told the elderly man buying ten packs. (I think they were on sale.) “But you know, once you start you just can’t stop.”

It seemed like my bananas were getting heavy. 

“Gotta love Safeway at midnight,” I muttered to the women standing in line in front of me. She was buying a twelve pack of Sprite and reading US Weekly.

“Tell me about it,” she muttered back. And then a strange thing happened. The kind of strange thing that comes out of two people standing in line sometime around midnight waiting for the checker to shut up and just ring up the sale: we started talking.

“Sonoma State hugh?” She asked. It took me a second to realize I was wearing my college sweatshirt.

“Oh yes went for college. Native Californian — you know this whole 0 degree thing not too sure about.”

“I understand,” she laughed. “Where are you from?”

“Santa Cruz.”

“No way. I used to live in Los Gatos.” (This happens to be twenty minutes from where I grew up. “I love it there.”

And then we hit a stride. For the next five minutes we reminisced about the beaches, beer and food. We talked about the sun, the calm winters and overwhelming amount of SUVs. And then, just as fast as it started it was done.

She paid for her Sprite, said goodbye and went on her way.

Safeway at midnight, who would have known.

Categories: Personal, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

