Home > Advice > Want to Stand Out? Do Five Minutes of Research and Then Contact the Person.

Want to Stand Out? Do Five Minutes of Research and Then Contact the Person.

January 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

This weekend I got an email from an editor asking me for my contact info. I had to wonder how much time the editor spent looking at my website and if he/she had decided to Google me. If they had, they could have found my contact info including phone number, email, Twitter account, Facebook page and LinkedIn profile on my blog, website, and a variety of other websites.

Am I calling the editor lazy? No. But I am surprised by the amount of people who choose to ask for information instead of just going out themselves and finding it.

The truth is, to stand out today it’s important to do at least five minutes of research online to get your bearings. If you don’t know anything about the person your contacting the conversations value can be reduced to simple questions you might not have needed to ask.

So next time you reach out to connect with someone take five and do some research. The results will pay off.

Categories: Advice
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

